Welcome to the Cave Diver's Forum.
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default A subjective review of some fast scooters

A friend reminded me today that diving is supposed to be fun, which I wholeheartedly agreed. So I thought what’s more fun than scooters. Typically I view scooters as a tool, but they can also just be for fun. I’ve been riding Gavins for approximately 15 years. As the new smaller scooters came out I rode a couple and hated them, too much torque resulting in more input on the diver, resulting in more fatigue on longer dives. Two years ago I herniated a disc and decided I needed to find a way to like the small scooters. I bought a Submerge Viper with a 2” longer hull, which allowed me to add weight to help offset the torque. This worked incredibly well. I sold my Gavins and purchased another viper.

The vipers are great, smaller, lighter, and faster than the Gavins I was riding, but I wanted something even faster. The Vipers are fast enough for most dives, but there are a few caves where I wanted additional speed. I looked at and test rode the Submerge Magnus, the Suex XK1, the Genesis 600, and the Submerge Minnus. All of these scooters are comparable in top speed, all are built incredibly well, and they all have a ton of rotational torque, which results in an uncomfortable riding scooter.

The Magnus, besides the torque the only thing I didn’t like about the scooter was the motor compartment was not sealed.