Welcome to the Cave Diver's Forum.
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Default Heated vest, options?

I'm doing longer dives and thinking of a heated vest. The Santi looks like a nice option but what else is available?

I've been using this one for several years now. Well not this one, as I have the smaller battery pack. I can do 2+ hour decos with no problems, although I do carry neoprene gloves when I deco over an hour. You can use other batteries, but this one comes with 3 heat settings + off. Turn it on low when I start to deco (or have a long scooter ride back to the entry after a hard swim), and turn it up if and when I need it. Works flooded (wires are encapsulated in rubber)

http://www.golemgear.com/p-663-q-ves...o-version.aspx

Here's how I attach it to my backplate:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	GG Canister.JPG
Views:	299
Size:	1.49 MB
ID:	9997  

Bill Ripley

Rebreathers are something that we have to go to in order to dive the way we want to dive. They are not something we go to for any other reason.

Page 27:
    http://www.nsscds.org/files/uws/v39n...llprintweb.pdf

FYI... Next I setup a dry suit for this I will use Golem Gear's bulkhead that fits under dry suit inflator. The rest I'll keep the same. Low cost and very effective. Hours of heat with good battery pack.

Chris Hill
    www.ocda.org

"Every man dies, but not every man really lives." William Wallace - Braveheart

Another alternative is a sodium acetate heat pack. I used to use one under my wet suit when I dived Dutch Springs in spring (48 F). You charge the heat pack by boiling for 15 min to dissolve the sodium acetate as a supersaturated aqueous solution. To get heat, snap the clicker inside the pouch, and the heat of crystallization of the sodium acetate will warm you for an hour. You have to keep the heater in a cloth pouch because it is too hot for bare skin.